Students experience a preview of spring at Bonaventure

ST. BONAVENTURE, N.Y.—Seven o’clock in the morning my clock reads, as the sun blares through my closed blinds in Devereux Hall at St. Bonaventure University. I roll over and lay my stuffed cow Maxwell across my eyes to shield me.

Maxwell, my stuffed cow . photo taken by me

Merciless toward college students desperate for sleep, this new alarm clock creeps under the cow and stings my eyes.

My roommate rolls over in her extra long twin bed as she too attempts to escape the light but, however, fails.

Those annoying flies that get caught in lights and buzz until they eventually die have nomadically changed locations to the window screens for fresh air and natural light.

This is quite an unusual experience in rural Allegany, N.Y., and it feels great.

Snowy St. Bonaventure University--Photo taken on October 16, 2009 outside of Devereux Hall looking east . photo taken by me

In cold and cloudy Allegany, N.Y., an overcast and snowy day does not surprise a Bonaventure student. However, with spring nudging its way into the forecast, students have experienced a week of almost 50 degrees Fahrenheit and sun. SUN! Is this too good to be true?

Yes. Winter does not leave without a fight. After all, the famous groundhog Punxsutawney Phil saw his shadow last month.

According to weather.com, clouds will burst with rain for the next five days and unload some snow in the following week. The mercury in thermometers will drop a few millimeters as well.

Enjoy this perhaps premature preview of spring weather while it lasts! On Sunday, students in need of sweating out home-cooked, calorie-filled meals from their respective spring breaks waited for exercise equipment in the Sandra A. and William L. Richter Center. Instead of hovering over an elliptical machine, waiting for a chance to burn that fat, take a walk outside before the mosquitoes and bees beat you to it.

http://www.weather.com/weather/today/Saint+Bonaventure+NY+14778

Published in: on March 9, 2010 at 4:37 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://creamcheesestethoscopes.wordpress.com/2010/03/09/students-experience-a-preview-of-spring-at-bonaventure/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I’m in complete agreement with you! I didn’t take a break from the elliptical though, I took a break from sitting in my chair studying Orgo all day and went for a walk on the River Trail. I got beautiful photos, a great exercise and wet boots and toes from the melting snow! But it’s still better than bug bites! 🙂


Leave a Reply

