From Bonaventure to GWU–My transition and passion for the schools

My hands shook. My eyes welled. My neurons fired in directions I had never before felt.

My smile consumed my entire face.

I held my acceptance letter to the St. Bonaventure University/ The George Washington University School of Medicine and Health Sciences dual-degree, B.S./M.D. program. At the age of 17, I had a conditional seat in the most-applied-to medical school in the country. With my Bonnie pride and medical school excitement, I signed the necessary documents.

The letters M.D. after my name–my dream becoming a reality.

My wardrobe overflowed with brown Bonnie pride, alongside ski jackets this Jersey Girl needed for her new winters. I cheered at the basketball games—against GWU, I must admit. Once a Bonnie, always a Bonnie, despite not knowing exactly what a Bonnie is…

The William F. Walsh Science Center, one of SBU’s newest campus editions, offered state-of-the-art laboratories. With small class sizes and extraordinarily personable professors, my name was Sam, not a number. I participated in numerous organizations, including founding the Healthcare Division of SBU’s Students in Free Enterprise. I graduated summa cum laude with a biology degree and minor in journalism/ mass communication.

Off to medical school I go!

Crossing the stage to receive my white coat proved to be one of the easiest walks for me. The same smile from when I chose the SBU/ GWU program reappeared and dissipated my jitters. I put on my white coat, fixed my hair and thought about my future career as a physician. Bonnie brown, move over please. I have a new addition to my closet.

GWU SMHS has provided me with more opportunities than lectures and research. I am part of the Medical Education Leadership track. I am on the Class of 2016 Student Council. I volunteer as a student doctor at The HEALing Clinic as well as at a local blood pressure clinic. Over spring break, I volunteered as a student doctor at a Project Medishare clinic in Thomonde, Haiti. I participate in the Yoga Initiative and am a member of organizations including American Medical Association, American Medical Women’s Association and Medical Students for Choice. I transcribe medical school lectures and tutor to support some of my expenses. In addition, I continue my passion for writing by updating my blog Cream Cheese & Stethoscopes, contributing stories to online medical student newspaper in-Training and volunteering on The HEALing Clinic Newsletter Committee.

Blurbs on my résumé cannot accurately describe the experiences I have had at St. Bonaventure University and The George Washington University School of Medicine and Health Sciences. These two institutions share a key characteristic—developing well-rounded students.

As I nostalgically check the snowy forecast for St. Bonaventure, I eagerly await the DC cherry blossoms.

I sit back and think. I am so happy here.

Excerpt featured here: http://smhs.gwu.edu/academics/md/admissions/joint-programs/bs-md

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://creamcheesestethoscopes.wordpress.com/2013/04/14/from-bonaventure-to-gwu-my-transition-and-passion-for-the-schools/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. You haven’t lost your touch with words, Sam. :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

